Audi Q3 Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do, newbie here.

I'm looking for an update/current position regarding having a retro fitted tow bar fitted to a 2013 Q3. I know this was covered before, but I'm interested to know if anyone has found an Audi dealer who doesn't wear a mask when it comes to their tow bar prices? The wife called our local dealership and was quoted £1500 and told it would take 7 hours! Looking around the Internet, there appear to be kits available and companies who will fit them, including 13 pin Audi wiring, for circa £600/£700 whose fitters/mechanics won't serve their time doing it.
What are others' experiences and have any Q3 owners in the Glasgow area had a tow bar fitted by a company they would recommend?

Cheers.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Paul, check out the prices of the bars on PF Jones' website and then see what they charge for a mobile fitter (depending on the style of bar you want), you then have a benchmark to judge local companies by...
If none of the local companies are competitive you can always use the mobile service from PF Jones.

We had a westfalia removable bar fitted with dedicated Audi 13 pin wiring loom for a very reasonable price (£490) and it works flawlessly. Just make sure the fitter has a diagnostic machine to code the car afterwards. Our chap was done in about 3 hours...

·
Registered
114 Posts
The Audi £1500 tow bar is significantly different to the removable tow bar.

It folds away, completely out of sight under the bumper. Even if you look under the car for it, you cannot see it - very neat.
It is operated by a hidden lever in the boot with an associated light.
RED = unlocked
GREEN = locked (either in the stowed away position, or the towing position)

I didn't want my Q3 'ruined' by an unsightly tow bar, so went for this option.
My pal at work has the removable version on his A4, and he won't be getting one again after seeing the more expensive option.