Audi Q3 Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2 week old Q3 sometimes outputs the following message when the start-stop system is triggered:
"Start-stop system: deactivated! Restart engine manually."
This happens maybe 20% of the time. The car stops. The start-stop engages. The green icon comes up. Then a moment later this message appears. We then need to re-start the car manually.
Any ideas why this is happening?
Is the car faulty?
We contacted the Audi garage but they just said it sometimes happens (??) - but couldn't explain why.
Any help would be really appreciated because at the moment it seems like a fault.

·
Registered
184 Posts
I have no personal experience of this, but "this sometimes happens" doesn't sound like sufficient enough explanation to me!I hope one of the other members can shed some light on it, but if the forum's experience can't fix it I'd have it back to the dealer like a shot!

·
Registered
1,363 Posts
Sound like a poor excuse from your dealer, I'm sure if it was common there would be a fair few people on here complaining about it.

Next time it happens take a picture on your phone, show the dealer and demand they look into it further. Post the photo in here too if you can?

I've never experienced it in the 9 months I've had my car.

·
Registered
111 Posts
I have never encountered this either and have had the car 10 months - doesn't sound right to me.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Sounds odd. Between the time he car stop and he message appears do you turn on air con. I have noticed if it is set to low then start stop won't activate so I wondered if start stop is activated and you set aircon to low or a lower temp then it might not be able to start and you have to manual start the car.

·
Registered
157 Posts