Audi Q3 Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm wanting to retrofit the auto hold to my newly acquired 2016 RSQ3.
I have the switch thanks to RSQ3John (y)
I've also got the loom from kufatec which is basically a pair of cables with terminals at each end ready to pop into connectors.
Can anyone give me a heads up and where to run the cables and the coding ( I have genuine vcds)
Much appreciated if anyone can offer assistance.馃榿
 

Registered
Joined
1,871 Posts
Chippie retrofitted hill hold on his Facelift car and I don't think any extra wiring was needed.
Main watchout is to use the rev 'G' switch which as the older rev 'E' switch does not work on FL models

Cheers Spike
 

Registered
Joined
1,849 Posts
Chippie retrofitted hill hold on his Facelift car and I don't think any extra wiring was needed.
Main watchout is to use the rev 'G' switch which as the older rev 'E' switch does not work on FL models

Cheers Spike
Thanks Spike - the switch that JU has was mine - bought it for my FL in 2016. How do we tell which 'Rev' version the switch is - any ideas? The image below is of the switch and box with the PNs.:
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Its a rev E switch John from the part number on the box.
If it is a rev G switch that's required and nothing else, I wonder why I have a loom supplied for it by kufatec?
1686
 

Registered
Joined
1,871 Posts
The Kufatec web site shows they currently sell 4 different hill hold kits depending on model year and left or RHD but no individual wiring looms.
Depending where your loom came from, best guess is that not all car models need the extra wiring and it was left over from a kit
You could try contacting CHIPPIE for confirmation

Cheers Spike
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yes you are correct they only list the full kit.
I messaged them and asked if they could supply just a loom, they then send you a link to purchase it.
Maybe I should have done a little research first.
I think I'll buy the rev G switch as that seems the way to go.
Thanks for the switch John, do you want me to send it back to you?
 

Registered
Joined
1,849 Posts
It get's ever more interesting - I don't want the switch back Ju, thanks for the offer.
 

Registered
Joined
176 Posts
When I fitted the switch to mine I didn鈥檛 use any additional wiring, perhaps that鈥檚 why I don鈥檛 get the green handbrake light on the instrument cluster? I thought it needed additional coding somewhere but perhaps it requires the extra wires.
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I tried the E switch and as previously found its a no go, brings up a handbrake fault that you can't shift.
I've no idea where the wires go as there is no product support with the cable purchase, but if anyone has a wiring diagram, I could possibly work it out?
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
On the loom its marked with the pin numbers where it fits in the connectors

On one end its

9 (Neon)
11 (Elf...its in german)



And the other its

Pin 35
Pin 43
1689
1690
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Rev G switch fitted and enabled with vcds and it works just fine.
The kufatec cable has pin numbers on the separate wires but these locations were already taken in the connector so I didnt use it.
As others have found, there is no green notification symbol in the dash, it does however state in the manual that you should get the notification and so it could be a coding change that needs implementing somewhere.
There is a lack of info within vcds for most modules on the Q3 and so tracking it down could prove tricky without scans of oem face lift Q3's with the factory option.
 

Registered
Joined
1,849 Posts
Well done Ju! My FL RS had HH as factory fit - you are welcome to scan it before the 28th. I have a double-garage so could be done in the dry...
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Thanks for the offer John, I think from what I remember your a little too far from me........:(
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Out of curiousity, as I've never used obd11, can it give you the coding on the individual modules?
 

Registered
Joined
1,849 Posts
That's a near foreign language to us OBD11 users! Perhaps you could take a look here:

Apps and Features

I recall I bought the PRO version and I'm in Android country...
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
It does look as though you can read the coding from the modules, which will basically be the same code that vcds reads.
If your at a loose end sometime, would you be up for reading the coding in 03 ABS and 17 Instruments

The ABS will be a short(hexadecimal and probably 6 digit) code and the instruments a much longer one

Obviously if its possible!
 

Registered
Joined
1,849 Posts
OK, I'll have a look! Would that be Sub Control units?
 

Registered
Joined
1,871 Posts
Good Job in activating the HH

Seem to recall a club member checking the hill hold function on a FL car and it did trigger a green light on the dash.
Since you bought the loom from them, just wonder if you asked Kufatec nicely they may provide the wiring details. That's assuming it's needed on a RHD FL car to enable the green light

Cheers Spike

PS. A few of us with factory fit HH on pre FL cars can verify there is no green light on older models
 

Registered
Joined
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Not sure how its laid out in obdeleven tbh.
There is a long coding option in there that should contain everything.
Good Job in activating the HH

Seem to recall a club member checking the hill hold function on a FL car and it did trigger a green light on the dash.
Since you bought the loom from them, just wonder if you asked Kufatec nicely they may provide the wiring details. That's assuming it's needed on a RHD FL car to enable the green light

Cheers Spike

PS. A few of us with factory fit HH on pre FL cars can verify there is no green light on older models
The manual says it does so it must be possible. The lack of coding info within vcds on the 8U platform is not helping!
I think the loom is surplus tbh and was bought knowing that any support was not included, maybe they knew it wasn't needed but I think its a switch to abs unit loom anyway going off the markings.
 

Registered
Joined
176 Posts
BYTE
0​
1​
2​
3​
4​
5​
6​
7​
8​
9​
10​
11​
12​
13​
14​
15​
16​
17​
18​
19​
20​
21​
22​
23​
24​
25​
26​
27​
28​
modulehill hold
mine Engine (J623-DFUA)03 ABS21F124A1CC29C3702079840624C833C304345700508B85
Engine (J623-DFUA)03 ABS22F124A14928E3702077440724C792C704365700508B85
Marks 2.0 petrol03 ABS21F124A1EB22E372207D840424C8D7C70436D700508B83
2017 rsq303 ABS22F124A16C20E36C207A440224C636C70436C700508B81
mine Engine (J623-DFUA)09 Central Elec0E000A2CA805F1C0201849C80184014C43F327AA206F2BE400878400C1
Engine (J623-DFUA)09 Central Elec46000A2FA837F3C4201849C02184014C53F327AA216FBBE4088784E0C5
Marks 2.0 petrol09 Central Elec4E000A2CA805F1C0241849C82184014C53F327AA216FBBE4088784E0C5
2017 rsq309 Central Elec46000A2FA805F3C0241849C82184014C53F327AA016FBBE40887A4E0C5
mine Engine (J623-DFUA)19 Can GatewayFBCF1A5A000108610353
Engine (J623-DFUA)19 Can GatewayFBCF1A5A050B05610253
Marks 2.0 petrol19 Can GatewayFBCF1A59000108610353
2017 rsq319 Can GatewayFBCF1060050B05610253
mine Engine (J623-DFUA)5f Information electrics01010600024153470823020103010000000000
Engine (J623-DFUA)5f Information electrics0E010006000AE1EB05800336000000010000000000000000
Marks 2.0 petrol5f Information electrics0E010106000AE0EB1DA04336000000010800000000000000
2017 rsq35f Information electrics21010006030AE0EB1DA06336000000010800000000000000

VCDS scans from my car before fitting the auto hill hold and 3 others with it fitted from the factory, these are the Hex values and would need converting to binary to see which are active (1) and not active (0)
as can be seen byte 17 activates the auto hill hold by changing 34 (00110100) to 36 (00110110),
i have tried several other combinations of different modules to try and get the green light to work in the instrument cluster, but as yet haven't had any success,
be aware that the different hex values could have more than one binary bit altered for different options fitted, engines and sales markets.
 
  • Like
Reactions: -Ju-
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
Top